BON CHARGE Red Light Face Mask Review: First Impressions, and How It Compares With the CurrentBody Series 2
BON CHARGE Red Light Face Mask review for Australia: about A$180 less than our CurrentBody Series 2, very comfortable, with a better remote.

On this page
BON CHARGE sent us this mask to review. They didn’t see this review before it went live. The CurrentBody mask we compare it with is our own.
This is a first-impressions review. We’ve had the mask for a short time, so this covers how it fits, feels and works out of the box, not long-term use. We’ll update it with battery life, comfort over longer sessions and how it holds up after a few more weeks.
LED face masks are an easy thing to buy and an easy thing to stop using. Whether one gets used depends on how comfortable it is, how easy it is to start a session, and whether you can relax with it on.
The BON CHARGE Red Light Face Mask comes from an Australian brand based in Perth and costs A$499. We already own the CurrentBody Skin LED mask Series 2, one of the best-known masks on the market, so we put the two side by side. Here are our first impressions of how the BON CHARGE fits, feels and works compared with the CurrentBody, plus a full spec comparison. We can’t tell you what either mask will do for your skin.

First impressions in short
The BON CHARGE is the better-value mask. At A$499 it costs about A$180 less than the CurrentBody Series 2, and on first impressions it gives very little away.
Some of that saving shows in the materials: the silicone feels slightly cheaper in the hand than the CurrentBody’s. Once it’s on your face, though, it makes no difference. It’s very comfortable and it looks good.
Where the BON CHARGE pulls ahead is the remote. Its six buttons and screen let you choose red light, near-infrared or both, set the strength and pick a session from 10 to 30 minutes, and you can see the time left while it runs. The CurrentBody gives you a single button and a 10-minute session. For less money, that’s a genuine upgrade.
Pros
- Very comfortable to wear
- Six-button remote with a screen showing time left, mode, strength and battery
- Choose red, near-infrared or both, three strength levels and 10 to 30 minutes
- About A$180 less than the CurrentBody Series 2 at full price
- Looks good, and comes with a satin pouch
Cons
- Material feels slightly cheaper than the CurrentBody’s in the hand, though it makes no difference once it’s on
What’s in the box
The mask arrives flat in a black box with a moulded tray. Inside are the mask, the controller, a set of padded fastening straps, two eye cups, a USB cable and a satin storage pouch. A QR code on the lid links to the user manual on BON CHARGE’s website.

Both masks come with a bag to keep them in: a black satin pouch for the BON CHARGE, a cream drawstring bag for the CurrentBody.

Design and fit
The BON CHARGE is a thin, flexible sheet of silicone with openings for the eyes and mouth and a shaped section over the nose. Two separate eye cups fit into the eye openings, and a padded strap with Velcro wraps around the back of your head.

The CurrentBody is also flexible silicone (CurrentBody calls it “Best-Fit flexible liquid silicone”), but it’s white and holds a curved face shape. It has its own optional eye inserts, a multiway strap and a chin strap.

On the face, the BON CHARGE is very comfortable. In the hand, the silicone feels slightly cheaper than the CurrentBody’s, and that’s likely part of how BON CHARGE keeps the price down. Once it’s on, it makes no difference: it sits comfortably, and it looks good.


The remote is a real upgrade
The BON CHARGE remote is the clearest upgrade over the CurrentBody. It has six buttons and a backlit screen. The screen is genuinely useful: it shows how many minutes are left, which light is on, the strength setting and how much battery is left. The CurrentBody’s clip-on controller has a single button with no screen, so you can’t see the time left or the battery level.


Going by the user manual on BON CHARGE’s website, the six buttons work like this:
- Power: press firmly to switch on.
- M: turns on the red light. The screen shows “R”.
- NIR: turns on near-infrared. You can’t see near-infrared light, so the mask won’t look any different. The screen shows “NIR” so you know it’s on. Red and near-infrared can run together.
- E: sets the strength. There are three levels, shown as wave bars on the screen, and a third press goes back to low.
- T+ and T−: set the session length in 5-minute steps, from 10 to 30 minutes. BON CHARGE says not to go past 30 minutes in one session.

The CurrentBody does one thing: switch it on and it runs its 10-minute session. That’s simple, but the BON CHARGE gives you far more control, and on the cheaper mask.
Like the CurrentBody, the BON CHARGE connects to its battery controller with a cable. Nothing plugs into the wall during a session, so you can sit back on the couch with the controller beside you.

Specs compared
Every figure below is the maker’s own claim, taken from BON CHARGE’s and CurrentBody’s Australian websites on 7 November 2026. We didn’t measure light output, LED counts or battery life.
| BON CHARGE | CurrentBody Series 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price (7 Nov 2026) | A$499 | A$679.99 |
| LEDs | 240 | 236 |
| Light | Red 630nm, near-infrared 850nm | Red 633nm, near-infrared 830nm, deep near-infrared 1072nm |
| Modes | Red, near-infrared or both; 3 strength levels | 1 anti-ageing preset |
| Claimed light strength (irradiance) | 40.8 mW/cm² | Not stated |
| Session length | Up to 30 minutes, in 5-minute steps | 10 minutes |
| How often (maker’s advice) | Several times a week, 10 to 20 minutes | 10 minutes, 3 to 5 times a week |
| Controller | Handheld, on a cable | Clip-on, on a cable |
| Battery and charging | Rechargeable; 3 to 4 hours to charge (from a power bank); sessions per charge not stated | Rechargeable, USB-C; sessions per charge not stated |
| Weight | 200g | Not stated |
| Material | “A-Grade” silicone, flexible | “Best-Fit flexible liquid silicone” |
| Eyes | 2 eye cups | Eye inserts (optional) |
| App | None mentioned | None mentioned (the newer Series 3 has one) |
| In the box | Mask, controller, straps, 2 eye cups, USB cable, satin pouch | Mask, controller, USB-C cable, eye inserts, storage bag, manual |
| Warranty (Australia) | 1 year, plus “lifetime technical support” | Length not stated on CurrentBody’s Australian site |
| Change-of-mind returns | 30 days | 30 days, if new and unused |
| Australian therapeutic goods register (ARTG) | No entry naming the face mask (see below) | No entry found under CurrentBody |
What we found: the BON CHARGE is very comfortable. Its material feels slightly cheaper than the CurrentBody’s in the hand, but that makes no difference once it’s on, and its remote and screen are more useful than the CurrentBody’s single button.
Safety, and the TGA
Read the user manual on BON CHARGE’s website before you start. BON CHARGE says to see your doctor before using the mask. It says to check with a doctor first if you:
- are pregnant;
- take “drugs known to cause sensitivity of skin to light”;
- have suspicious or cancerous lesions;
- have recently had a steroid injection or use topical steroids;
- have a serious diagnosed condition;
- have a heart condition or pacemaker.
It also recommends a 2-minute sensitivity test on your forearm, and starting with 2 to 3 minute sessions, building up over two to three weeks. Don’t use it on wet skin or open wounds, or with balms or ointments. Don’t use it on anyone asleep, and let children use it only with supervision.
We searched the Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods (ARTG), the TGA’s list of medical devices and medicines that can be supplied in Australia. BLUblox Pty Ltd, the company behind BON CHARGE, has three active entries for red/infrared light phototherapy units. All three are listed for relieving pain, not for skin, and none names the face mask. We found no ARTG entry under CurrentBody. BON CHARGE sells this mask as “a general-use beauty product”, and neither brand’s mask should be read as TGA approved.
Price and where to buy
A$499 isn’t impulse-buy money, but it’s a fair chunk less than the CurrentBody. When we checked on 7 November 2026, the BON CHARGE Red Light Face Mask was A$499 on BON CHARGE’s Australian store, with free shipping from its Australian warehouse. BON CHARGE says its Black Friday sale starts in mid-November, so if you’re not in a rush, it’s worth waiting a week or two before you buy.
The CurrentBody Series 2 was A$679.99 on CurrentBody’s Australian store. That’s about A$180 more, and you’d be giving up the BON CHARGE’s remote and screen. Put the difference towards a good moisturiser, or a few months of streaming to watch during your sessions.
One warning: there are lookalike sites selling “CurrentBody” masks for a fraction of the real price. If a deal looks too good to be true, it probably is. Buy from CurrentBody’s own store or a retailer you know.
Your rights under the Australian Consumer Law apply on top of either brand’s warranty. Choosing between a mask, a wand and a body pad? Our guide to red light therapy devices compares the options.
Should you buy it?
On first impressions, the BON CHARGE is the better-value LED face mask of the two. It costs about A$180 less than the CurrentBody Series 2, it’s very comfortable, and its remote and screen are a real upgrade on the CurrentBody’s single button. The slightly cheaper-feeling material is where the saving shows, and once the mask is on it makes no difference.
If you’d rather pay more for a mask that feels a little more premium in the hand, the CurrentBody is still a good mask. For most people, the BON CHARGE is the smarter buy.
We’ll keep using the BON CHARGE and update this review with battery life and how it holds up over the coming weeks.